Diocesan Governance System

The Diocesan Synod: This is the highest governance organ of the diocese. It is made up of all canonically resident clergy in good standing and 2 laity from each parish and the ordinary sessions are held once every two years.

The Standing Committee of the Synod: The Synod elects from its delegates members who together with ex-officio members (Archdeacons, Provost and Administrative Secretary), form the Standing Committee of Synod. It offers oversight to the management of the diocese. It also appoints members to various boards and committees of the diocese.

The Bishop: As an episcopal ministry, the Bishop leads in the day-to-day operations of the diocese assisted by the Standing Committee which he chairs.

The Parish Church Council: The parish is governed by the Parish Church Council (PCC) made up of members from Local Churches of the parish. They assist the Vicar or parish priest in managing the affairs of the parish.

The Local Church Council: Every congregation or local church is governed by the Local Church Council which manages its day-to-day services.

The diocese also has two other regional levels, the Archdeaconries and Deaneries, which are advisory by nature and assist in unify the diocese in their delivery of convenient pastoral services. The archdeaconry is managed by an Archdeacon and the deanery is led by Rural or Urban Dean.

Diocesan Standing Committee -September 2019 to August 2021.

  1. Rt Rev. Dr. Emmanuel Chemengich  -Diocesan Bishop/Chairman
  2. Aggrey Kidiavai                                      -Diocesan Chancelor

Clergy and Lay Members:

  1. Canon Julius Mettah                   -Vice Chairman
  2. Mrs. Margaret Wanyonyi            -Lay. Secreary
  3. Ven. Ben Barasa                            -Diocesan Administrative Secretary
  4. Lay Canon Yonah Adala               -Treasurer
  5. Mr. Shadrack Wenani                   -Finance Chairman
  6. Ven Canon Sarah Khisa                -Vicar General
  7.  Mr Jotham Makele
  8. Mrs.  Jentrix Cheloti
  9. Mrs.  Jackline Kirui
  10. Mr.  Joshua Chebitwey
  11. Ven Canon Kabiru Mbugua
  12. Ven Canon Shadrack Ndiwa
  13. Rev. Judith Mwaniki
  14. Ven. Meshack Kosgey
  15. Ven. David Sang
  16. Rev. Judith Muga
  17. Rev. Brian Kimutai
  18. Mrs. Rose Mumelo
  19. Mrs. Rose Ekoine
  20. Amb. Peter Gitau
  21. Mr. Bonfree Kinjo
  22. Mrs. Susan Thande
  23. Mr. Kennedy Kiprop Sakaja
  24. Mr. Abraham Rutto
  25. Diocesan Accountant
  26. Mrs. Janet Khabeko
  27. Ven. Alstone Longoriaki
  28. Ven. Joseph Wainaina